Why do I need to know html to Edit Descriptions and Some Other Product/Pricing Questions

William Marshall September 24, 2016

I was just taking a look in JIRA Core at the sample tasks created for me as part of learning how to use the application.  Looking at the existing task–it looks great.  Formatting, images, etc.   As soon as I click to edit, everything turns into a form of HTML rather than WYSIWIG.  Is that right?  This seems very unfriendly for end users–especially since JIRA Core is targeted for non-IT users.  I'm not even sure how to edit this.

On a separate note, I'm new to JIRA.  I am a project manager working on a project that has a few teams (both IT and business users).  Would it be best if I use JIRA Software, Service Desk, Confluence, and JIRA Core?  Or do I need only some of these?  I have heard JIRA favorably recommended by several people and I want to love it.  But I'm a bit discouraged when the first thing I see is a bunch of code when I go to edit a description.

Also, it seems like JIRA Capture is something that would be included in Service Desk rather than an add-on for another $10 per month.  It looks like JIRA Capture is primarily for taking screen shots which I can do with Snag-it.  What is the advantage of JIRA Capture?

If I get JIRA Software, Service Desk, Confluence, JIRA Core, and JIRA Capture, now I'm looking at $50 per month.  I am operating as an indpendent consultant I'm planning on evaluating/learning these for a month or two before deciding to recommend to my client(s), so it's starting to look pricey if I have to get everything separately.

Thanks,

Bill Marshall

Here is what the description looks like that I was trying to edit.  This seems to be too much for even myself much less my non-IT business users.

!Workflow.png|align=left!
h4. Workflows - What you need to know
{color:#707070}Workflows define steps to get a task to done. To see the workflow this tasks goes through, click on 'View Workflow' above. {color}
h4. Status