Using user's Department/Organization from AD as a group in Jira (using LDAP)

Suhas Patil May 8, 2016

I want to build "User Object Filter" and "Group Object filter" for fetching "Department" (field) of the user from the AD in our JIRA where we are using LDAP for authentication. After fetching make the department as users group in Jira. 

Further we have plan to implement Nested group functionality in JIRA using Department as group. We have department hierarchy like as follows

AB

ABX

ABXY

I am not sure if it is really possible to use Department field from AD as a group in JIRA and then make it nested.

Since I have little knowledge about LDAP and AD, so would really appreciate your help and suggestions on this.

1 answer

1 vote
Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
May 8, 2016

JIRA is only really aware of the groups in AD.  If you want to pull out an attribute then you'll need some code to do it, and it won't be a group in JIRA unless you start doing things like making dummy groups for attributes or rewriting the user handling inside the application.

A better solution here would be to forget the department field and make a set of department groups in AD.