Scrum board jql

Teresa Rhodes July 17, 2017

I'm a novice at the scrum board filters. I'm struggle with my teams work crosses many projects so I don't want to bring all of the projects into the query so for those projects that I have not included I wanted to pull a few tickets into the query but as soon as I add the "OR sprint - whatever it is " to the filter and save it. Then I can no longer create or start a sprint. It is like I took off the ORDER BY Rank ASC off the filter.

Here is my query that does save but then the create sprint is greyed out. This query work will populates the board but takes the creat and start functionality is removed. If I just take back the OR out then it works fine.

(project in ("ENT - Payment Gateway BE", "ENT - Get Address", "ENT - CECI Backend", "ENT - IPEN ", "ENT - Service Utilities", "ENT - Ecommerce Subtotals", "ENT - Tools", "ENT - NAIC Exceptions", "ENT - OCheque Backend", "ENT - Tasks", "ENT - NAIC Registry", "ENT - Payment Gateway") AND status not in (Closed) OR Sprint = 8403) ORDER BY Rank ASC

2 answers

0 votes

Thank you for your answer. 

My team crosses multiple projects; some I have control over and some I do not. The team has its main goals that are within the teams projects but sometimes is pulled in on other team projects to help with a single issue. 

I really want to stay with the Scrum board because it keeps the focus on hitting our sprints and timeboxing but I need to be able to find a way to bring in these on-off tickets into our backlog and ultimately into a sprint.

I'm open to any idea you might have. Thanks so much for your help.

Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
July 17, 2017

There's nothing wrong with your query except the "sprint" clause, which triggers it to be looked at as having a completely global context.