Permission setting question

Hyon Lim May 8, 2016

Hi,

I am pretty new to JIRA, so permission setting is really hard for me.

If anyone know the solution of following question, please let me know step-by-step instruction.

I would like to implement following permission structure.

1. Only a member who added to the project can see issues inside. No other member couldn't see inside. For example, if 10 members exist, only 3-4 members who added in the project can see the contents.

2. We have 3 administrators. If any administrator creates the project, notify to another administrators by e-mail.

3. If any member create an issue, or comment on issue, notify to specific user all time.

-Hyon

1 answer

0 votes
Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
May 8, 2016

For point 1

You will need to un-pick the default setup for JIRA permissions here.  The problem is that the default is to have a group called "JIRA users" that is used to say "people who can log in and use JIRA".  That's fine in itself, but, in the default roles, it is used as a default user group as well.  So, every time you add a new project, the role of "user" has "JIRA users" added to it automatically.  The default permissions say "role of user can see the project", so the entire default system says "everyone who can log in can see every project".

So

remove the jira-users group from the default role of user

go through all your existing projects and remove the jira-users group from the role of user, but replace it with either the users or groups that you want to retain access for.  I'd also look to see if it's been used in other roles, and remove that as well

Once you have that done, then jira-users now means just "can log in", and won't creep into your projects