New project could not be created. Unknown error

Stas Sverdlov November 22, 2017

Hi,

I'm new to JIRA administration

I'm trying to create a new project and receive unknown error. According to this article https://confluence.atlassian.com/jirakb/hmm-we-couldn-t-create-your-project-due-to-an-unknown-error-818580338.html?_ga=2.130993031.926060894.1511257655-405535529.1506346553&_gac=1.16768324.1508738059.Cj0KCQjwg7HPBRDUARIsAMeR_0jkQqA3DiQ3-qUTbvrboyAgfAoh2pWSzap0e-zV1NTXNi7xoJUHJPgaAoqqEALw_wcB

it's kind of issue on ID handler.  

So i'm not sure where and how to find a solution cause there's no solution at the article above. 

Please advice

1 answer

0 votes
Eduard M
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
November 22, 2017

Hello, assuming you are on a linux platform: please grep the atlassian-jira log from the timeframe of the error, first change directory to your log folder and then run the grep command:

cd /var/atlassian/application-data/jira/log

grep "threw an exception while handling a notification about a project being created" atlassian-jira.log

If the error occured in a log that's already archived you may need to use 'zgrep' instead.

Afterwards post the matching lines from the log.

Thanks.

Hi Eduard, thank you for the reply,

We're using MS server 2012 R2.

Here is the line 

2017-11-22 10:39:59,006 http-nio-8080-exec-15 ERROR bennym 639x41041x1 1duaq1a 10.106.64.240 /rest/project-templates/1.0/templates [c.a.jira.project.ProjectCreateRegistrarImpl] The handler with id com.atlassian.greenhopper.project.PermissionSchemeProjectCreateHandlerImpl.ProjectCreateHandler threw an exception while handling a notification about a project being created
org.eclipse.gemini.blueprint.service.importer.ServiceProxyDestroyedException: service proxy has been destroyed

I hope that's what you mean

Eduard M
Atlassian Team