Need help setting an absolute dueDate in Scriptrunner on a transition

Brendan Clough January 11, 2017

I need help with setting up a transition post function to change the due Date of an Issue. I've added on Script runner as I get the impression that this is the only path possible to achieving what I want to.

Now not having any experience in Java/ Groovy, to say I am a noob would be putting it kindly, but I have had a first attempt at it anyway. Would this work?

def newDueDate = "31/03/2017"

put("/rest/api/2/issue/${issue.key}")
	.header("Content-Type","application/json")
	.body([
		fields:[
			due: newDueDate
		]
	])
	.asString()

logger.info("dueDate of " & newDueDate & "set successfully")

Note :: I just want to confirm that this is the correct approach as we only have a single instance of JIRA cloud, therefore any code I load will be going into the production environment and I would rather not mess this up.

1 answer

1 accepted

2 votes
Answer accepted
Jon Bevan [Adaptavist]
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
January 11, 2017

Hi @Brendan Clough,

There are only three small changes you need to make to that script.

First, the date should be in YYYY-mm-dd format.
Second, to join strings/text together you need to use the + symbol, not the &.
Third, the field is referenced as duedate, not due. 

def newDueDate = "2017-03-31"

def response = put("/rest/api/2/issue/${issue.key}")
    .header("Content-Type","application/json")
    .body([
        fields:[
            duedate: newDueDate
        ]
    ])
    .asString()
// If the request fails, this will print out a nice message in the logs
// showing you what the error response was.
// The 204 number here is the HTTP Status code for No Content, which is
// the documented response from this REST API
assert resp.status == 204