Mystic disconnection from the Confluence/JIRA servers running in a VMware machine

Mike Fornefett January 22, 2016

Hello Confluence / JIRA administrators out there!

I work as a university professor and I use Confluence / JIRA / Bitbucket / Bamboo for my courses that our students can learn about modern tools. I have worked in industries with Atlassian tools since 2006, so I am familiar with them. Now, I set up an environment and run into some (mystic .) trouble. Hope, that somebody can help.

The Configuration

I got two virtual machines from the university, running with modern computer hardware. The configuration:
VMware, 2 CPU, 8 GB RAM, Win Server 2012 R2. Both have open port 80 and 443.
Both are reachable over two URL, URL1 and URL2 resp. I set up SSL-connections with certificates from our university's CA. On machine 1, I run Confluence and on machine 2, JIRA and Bitbucket, and GIT, later I want to install Bamboo. Machine 2 also has an Apache 2.4 running to address JIRA with URL2/track and Bitbucket with URL2/scm. Both Atlassian's tomcat got 3 GB RAM. They run as windows services. All three applications are connected with application links. Databases: PostgreSQL 9.3. Everything runs fine.

The Problem

Every 3 to 10 days it happens that either the one or the other server is not reachable. It means in detail:

• I cannot connect over the URL(s): timeout
  • I cannot - which is more serious -  connect the Windows server over RDP, which is the normal administration tool of the server.

I have to raise a ticket for the university's IT administration that they restart the VM machine. Then, it works again for a period of time.

I have not found any relation to an action preceding these problems. The load is not much, up to 5 users. I also got a CPU recording from the IT administration: no unusual CPU usage,