JIRA admin test environment

Darya_Koyfman August 24, 2017

I'm JIRA administrator, not a programmer. We use JIRA for engineering processing, and I lead these processes. As an admin, I have to sometimes change/upgrade processes and this includes change of workflows, schemes, screens, etc. I know I have to work with the copy first, and then tag the project to the new version of whatever was changed. But now, I have a tremendous change of a workflow, and I'm afraid to screw up the production by loosing data or somehow else.

Our IT created the snapshot backup of the existing JIRA. Should this be ebough for rollback in case of a problem, or we need to create test environment and what's the best way to do it?

4 answers

2 accepted

1 vote
Answer accepted
Vijay Sv September 6, 2017

Always use TEST or DEV instances of Jira instead making changes on the Live production system.

Once you validate all the changes in TEST, use workflow import/export (local system) to move new workflow in Prod.  

Importants:

>> Refresh your TEST or DEV DB instances with Production Copy and re-index the instance. So that you get latest data to workon.

>> Old Status and new status mappings need during migration(from TEST to Prod).

Good Luck!

Vj

1 vote
Answer accepted
somethingblue
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
August 24, 2017

Hi Darya,

I always recommend making changes and testing in a test environment before making those changes in a production environment so you can judge the impact on the instance.

In the event something goes wrong with your workflows the XML backup should be enough to restore JIRA, however, you may also want to export the workflow you're going to modify as an additional backup.

You can restore a copy of your instance to another clean installed instance and license it with a dev license to test.  I have included some additional resources that should help you get started: