• Community
  • Products
  • Jira Software
  • Questions
  • I am trying to delete a jira group but it gives me this error message "You do not have permission to remove this group from all the directories in which it occurs". I am a system administrator on jira

I am trying to delete a jira group but it gives me this error message "You do not have permission to remove this group from all the directories in which it occurs". I am a system administrator on jira

luvo September 6, 2016

I am trying to delete a jira group but it gives me this error message "You do not have permission to remove this group from all the directories in which it occurs". I am a system administrator on jira

2 answers

0 votes
JiraYo
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
March 4, 2019

This happened to me with the group "domain users"

I think at some point in jira i had set up this group manually, instead of it being synced from the domain.

because basically, the group is empty (no  members) but it probably is syncing from AD so i cant delete it. I just wanted to delete and have the system re-add the group, which will hopefully unbreak it.

If i dont fix it, i cant use domain users. no user has domain users group on their account yet they all should have it. will post back when i figure out how to delete it or force a sync on it.

Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
March 6, 2019

I am a bit confused - you say "at some point in jira i had set up this group manually, instead of it being synced from the domain." then " but it probably is syncing from AD"