How to extract the history of changes on the status and resolution of a bug?

Neil Taylro January 31, 2018

I gather I can't extract the history chain for Status/Resolution using JQL.

I'm a novice to the programmatic API...

Is it possible to write an API program to query JIRA and extract the history?

The larger goal is to present a report, per issue (grouped by Team), of the elapsed time spent processing completed issues (time from status -> In Progress until -> Accepted).

In a similar vein, to report on the number of issues Accepted, per unit time (e.g. calendar month).

[the workflow goes Submitted, Triaged, Ready for Refinement, Refined, In Progress, Delivered, Accepted, Verified. I can't assume the final resolved time, as it'll change when Verified.]

2 answers

1 vote
Doug Swartz
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
February 2, 2018

There is a Python package for interfacing with Jira: https://jira.readthedocs.io/en/master/ 

I have not used it, so cannot comment on it's robustness.

Thomas Deiler
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
February 4, 2018

@Doug Swartz the page you wrote, 'doesn't exit yet', it says? Was there a typo?

Neil Taylro February 5, 2018

some junk characters ("%A0") on the end of the raw URL.

try https://jira.readthedocs.io/en/master/ which works for me

Thomas Deiler
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
February 5, 2018

works.

1 vote
Thomas Deiler
Community Leader
Community Leader
January 31, 2018

Dear @Neil Taylro,

yes it is possible with the API. Do you have coding skills?