How to avoid accidental reverts due to simultaneous edits?

Stig Brautaset June 14, 2016

I created an issue today that contained a list of simple actions that people needed to confirm they had performed. I asked them to just tick off their name in a list when they performed these, because I did not want to trawl the comments and manually update the ticket myself. (Partly because I expected a lot of tiny updates, and JIRA hides comments so you cannot quickly scan down---it becomes a multi-click job). Also, this was stuff that should be done in parallel, so assigning the issue to each person in turn would be desperately inefficient.

I was surprised and dismayed when it turns out that JIRA handled this scenario really, really poorly. Everyone kept overwriting eachothers' changes, because JIRA does not appear to have any form of optimistic locking or conflict detection.

Since JIRA lets people edit eachothers' comments (or maybe that's just me, since I'm an admin?) I thought about making each list item a separate comment, but it would both be laboreous, and annoying since some of the comments would be hidden. And it certainly is not an intuitive way to work with JIRA!

Can we hope for some form of conflict detection in the future, or do you have any suggestions for how to deal with this issue?

3 answers

2 votes
Nicolas Bourdages
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
June 14, 2016

You bring up a fair point. JIRA is definitely not well suited for simultaneous editing of the same issue. You need to be changing values that do not require entering an Edit mode.

Comments are one of them. But I can think of others:

• Votes
  • ToDo Custom fields (comes from a free plugin of the same name)