Connect Java app: Should I use ac-play-java? Alternatives?

Michael Kitchin October 29, 2015

Hi there,

I have a  Maven-built, standalone Java 8 app (as in, uses streams and other 8-ish features) that works well with Jira using the jira-rest-java-client suite. I'd like to integrate its featureset directly with Atlassian OnDemand with an eye towards the Marketplace, leading me to Connect and ac-play-java. I'm not a Play expert but am willing to learn, however it looks like ac-play-java has fallen behind the current Play framework and, judging from activity may be on its way to deprecation.
So:
  1. Should I go further with ac-play-java?
  2. If so:
    1. What version should I use from Maven/build from source (guessing 0.10.1 from source)?
    2. What version of Play framework should this run against (guessing 4.2.x)?
    3. Will everything work with Java 8?
  3. If not:
    1. What's the easiest, 3rd-party route for a Java programmer to get busy with Connect?
    2. Relative merits of cobbling together my own JWT/webhook mechanism and wrapping it all up in a WAR, since I'm already talking to Jira through other means?

Thanks very much for your time -- I'm looking forward to proceeding with this work, just a little confused as to how.

2 answers

1 accepted

1 vote
Answer accepted
Radu Dumitriu
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
October 29, 2015

my 2 cents as well:

1. ac-play-java is a solution, for sure, although it seems that was built at a hackaton or something.

2. Play version should be 2.2.6, Scala 2.10.3, AC play 0.10.1 Yes, it works quite well on Java8. I even integrated it with guice and did some dep injection on it

Personally, I doubt play framework, though. I doubt that perf wise is everything rose (put the french e'). Even the name says it: play.