Concept of EPIC items and stories in one board?

Peter Blom January 14, 2017

Hi Everyone,

I'm new to JIRA and I'm trying to understand it through the tutorials. It looks great and I'm eager to start!

But I got a bit confused at the part about the differences between EPIC, STORY, TASK, BUG.

I understand the differences, but why would you add EPIC and STORY to the board if they can only get cleared after all (sub)tasks under the stories are finished? Won't it just clutter up the board? Or is it common to have the Story on the board until all related tasks are completed?

Kind regards,

Peter Blom

3 answers

1 accepted

1 vote
Answer accepted
Deleted user January 15, 2017

Hi Peter,

It really depends ... It's like Pizza, at least that's my perspective:

An epic is the whole pizza. The stories are individual cut slices of the pizza and the rest, like tasks, bugs, improvements or whatever, are the topping on the pizza/slices.

In order for you to not get messy and able to digest the pizza (be in control of you project), you might want to cut the pizza in pieces. How big, depends on your appetite and how much you (or your team) can handle. Ideally you'd want to keep stories small. Anything above 3 days must be split into digestible portions (our rule), as this will give you more transparency on the work-scope, helps to reduces complexity and is therefore more tangible.

So, it really depends on the size of your projects and team etc.

A good way to go forward is to try and see what works out for you best. Don't be to harsh on the definitions and try to follow them, rather find a way to implement the framework/tool to your working environment, so that you get the most out of it. Both sides (your work environment and the tool) have to be flexible enough to accommodate seamlessly. 

Hope this helps and welcome to the Atlassian / JIRA world! smile

Cheers

Ed 

1 vote
Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader