Can you be a Jira Admin for specific projects, but not be a Jira Admin for other projects?

jude.jang March 26, 2020

I'm relatively new to Jira and I believe I am an Jira Admin, but I think I have more permissions for certain types of projects than others. For example, whenever I am working with a classic software type project, I am able to configure the projects board. But when I am working with a classic business type project, I am unable to configure the projects board.

Does this mean I'm a Jira Admin for classic software type projects, but not for classic business type projects? How can I receive the ability to configure boards for classic business type projects?

2 answers

1 vote
Marianne Miller
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
March 26, 2020

There are significant differences between the two, primarily that a software project has standard agile workflows and boards associated, while a business project does not.  You could modify and update the categories to try to force boards based on the workflow, but this probably isn't ideal.  

As a new user, you are probably a project admin.  You should discuss discuss this with your system administrator to understand your access and limitations as well as best practices within your organization.

Hope this helps,

Marianne

0 votes
John Funk
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
March 27, 2020

Hi Jude - Welcome to the Atlassian Community!

As Marianne says Business project functionality is very limited in what you can modify - even if you are both a project admin and a Jira admin. If you need to do that, I would suggest you create the project as a Classic Software project. 

jude.jang March 27, 2020