Can an issue be assigned to a specific board

Chris Doherty December 21, 2015

I am a SM for an organization with multiple initiatives.  I am new to JIRA and trying to figure out the best way to organize things.  I was thinking about creating one project for the organization, and the creating individual boards for each initiative.  When I organize things this way, all of the stories and epics assigned to the project show up on all of the boards.  I figured that I could put a filter on each board to show only the stories that pertain to that initiative.  But when I think about doing it that way, it comes to mind that I could do the same thing with one board using a different filter for each initiative.  First question - is there a way to assign issues to an individual board without having to use a filter to show the relevant work?  Second question - which way makes the most sense to keep things organized (one board or multiple boards).  Third question - what is the best way to filter to show all of the issues (epics and stories) for a given initiative (what should I filter on)?

Hope that all makes sense smile

Thanks

Chris

4 answers

3 votes
Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
December 21, 2015

Not in the way you describe.  The whole point of a board is that it represents what you want to work on.  By far the best way to get that list is to use a filter.  No matter how you do it, there's always a filter (and almost always a dynamic one) behind the board.

That said, there's nothing really wrong with your approach.  Having boards that filter for an initiative is a perfectly valid way to build a set of boards (one project or many doesn't actually matter).  So to answer your questions specifically: