Any way to automatically add all assignees for an issue as watchers

ashleyg December 9, 2015

I am just looking for a way to ensure that whoever is or was assignee for an issue should automatically get added as watcher to that issue (even if he/she hasn't commented).

I was just going through script runner functionality and i think we could achieve it using script runner listener, but i am not an expert in listeners, so i would seek your help here.

There is also a functionality there which helps to add any current user as watcher but i don't need that as that will be mess up our watchers list.

Any help/suggestions here will be greatly appreciated as always.

Cheers,

Ashley

3 answers

1 vote
JamieA
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
December 10, 2015

You could use the following as a listener on the Assigned event:

import com.atlassian.jira.component.ComponentAccessor

def watcherManager = ComponentAccessor.getWatcherManager()
watcherManager.startWatching(issue.assignee, event.issue)

untested, and that's for 7.0. In 6.x you may need to convert the user from one type to another, or use issue.assigneeUser or something.

ashleyg December 10, 2015

Thanks Jamie for the prompt response :) I just copied this and pasted inside the Script runner->Script Listeners->Custom Listener and configured it for Issue Assigned Event for a project. But the issues in that project are not at all impacted by this listener. I am a novice in Listeners so i don't know what exactly should be the code. Any help here would be greatly appreciated.

I am using Jira 6.4.12 server instance