Any ideas where I can find mickey mouse explanations of schemes, especially workflow schemes.

john davison July 25, 2016

Sorry for such a 'simple' question  but for some reason i am just not getting the whole scheme thing around Jira... is there a place that can describe the ideas in a basic format?  Not being allowed to spend money on a course its all self taught so if it doesn't sink it its a tricky to get a different explanation.

Thanks !

3 answers

1 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
Avril Bower
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
July 26, 2016

Hi @john davison, 

I totally understand where you are coming from as I was in the same position a few years back. The links Vitaliy provided are really good resources. 

Schemes can be difficult to get your head around here is how I have explained schemes to people I've trained:

The first thing to note is that the driving force behind any project is the Issue Type. Issue Types are what all schemes pretty much revolve around. This is why the first tab in your project the Issue Type tab. This tab will show you at a glance which issue types use which workflows, Field Configs and Screen schemes in that project. 

Explain the relationship between screens, screen schemes, and Issue type screen schemes

1. A screen is a simple collection of fields on a form. 
      1. A form can be a Create screen, Edit screen or a transition screen.
      2. Screens can be used across projects multiple times (see warning below) 
    2. A screen scheme is a container that determines what issue types use which of the screens you've created in any given project. 
      1. You only need a single screen scheme per project if you want all issue types to use the same screens.