About Editing the screen, workflow, fields, transition in Jira

Darren Chan February 16, 2017

This question is in reference to Atlassian Documentation: Working with workflows

I am a project admin of a specific JIRA Project. However, I can't Edit the screen, workflow, fields, transition in JIRA for this project

What access rights that I need to get for editing this specific project? 

Darren

1 answer

1 accepted

2 votes
Answer accepted
Thomas Schlegel
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
February 16, 2017

Hi Darren,

you need to be System Administrator, not Project Administrator.

Regards,

Thomas

Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
February 17, 2017

Well, JIRA admin, or System admin.

You can edit the workflow in two cases as a project admin though:

1. You are using JIRA Software and your workflow has been "simplified"
  2. You are on JIRA 7.3+ and the workflow is not shared with any other project
Darren Chan February 19, 2017

Hi Thomas, Nic,

The system admin. added me as one of the system admin. today.

However, l still can't do any edit to the workflow, screen fields and transition, please clarify.

My company name: Misfit. JIRA link: misfit.jira.com

Best Regards,

Darren

Thomas Schlegel
Community Leader
Community Leader
February 19, 2017

Hi Darren,

did you read the Administrator's Guide, especially https://confluence.atlassian.com/adminjiracloud/working-with-workflows-776636540.html ?

Do you get any error message?

Regards,

Thomas

Darren Chan February 20, 2017

Hi Thomas,