Board settings

Vanessa Becker July 7, 2021

Hello Admins!

Hope you are all doing well.

I am battling with board settings on one of our sites.

Please note that both sites are on a standard plan and I am an administrator on both of the site.

One sit 1 everything is working perfect and i am able to update swimlanes, board setting etc.

On site 2 I have an option to configure boards but there is no swimlanes to change.

Please could you guide me why there is a difference and how do i update the site without the board settings to be able to update swimlanes?

Please refer to my screen shot attached.

Thank you!

5 answers

4 accepted

Suggest an answer

6 votes
Answer accepted
Marc Koppelaar
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
July 7, 2021

Hi @VA

I presume you are on Jira Cloud.

If the project type of your project on site 2 is a Team-managed software project, you can't set swim-lanes.

Swim-lanes are only available on boards in Company-managed software projects

Cheers,

Marc

1 vote
Answer accepted
John Funk
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
July 7, 2021

Hi Vanessa,

The only out of the box swimlanes functionality for Team-managed project boards is the Group by function. And it only applies to a few fields (Assignee, Epic, etc. )

The only other option that I am aware of is to create a new board that uses a board filter based on the Team-managed project. But you can't put the project in the Location field - you will have to use the value of Personal Profile or select another project in the list. Whatever value you put in the field will not affect the cards that show on the board.