Update on Jira Align Objectives

Hi, Jira Align!

My name is Sam Ugulava and I am a Senior Product Manager working on Jira Align. I spent my first ~2 years at Atlassian working on Confluence Cloud, but recently made the move over to Enterprise Agility where I lead our Jira Align Planning & Execution group.

One of the first projects I’ve taken over is our work on Objectives, specifically OKRs. We know our customers deeply care about this area of the product, so I wanted to give you an update on our path forward.

We’re listening to you

Feedback comes to us through several channels: metrics, JAC tickets, TAMs, scheduled calls with the product team, and the comment box you see when switching between the new and old OKR experiences. As a user, I can imagine it sometimes feels like your feedback is being sucked into a blackhole, but I want to assure you that I have read every single piece of feedback you’ve shared since I transitioned on to the JA team a few weeks ago.

Here are 6 major themes I’ve noticed:

• The overall user experience is confusing, overly complicated, and frustrating

• The ability to edit and delete objectives is critical

• The experience is missing key fields / data

• Sharing the “why” and adding context to objective statuses is a must

• The new experience is missing SAFe and milestone objectives

This list does not represent all of the feedback you’ve shared and should not be interpreted as a prioritized list of our commitments. Having said that, my team will be prioritizing Objectives in this next quarter and hope to ship improvements to the experience.

Next steps