So I shared a file I didn't really want to. Now it is existing on some server(s) somewhere. When I use the delete functionality does it delete all instances of that file on all the server(s) it was saved to when I shared, or I am simply deleting the user facing shared message and not the actual file in all its saved/cached locations?
Deleting the message/attachment from history will permanently delete the attachment from S3 as well (where the attachment is stored. You will get a prompt notifying you of this when you attempt to delete a file:
Screen Shot 2016-02-18 at 8.10.52 AM.png
Also see the note that users who've already received the message will still be able to see the attachment preview in their client until they close/re-enter the room or quit and restart their client (to clear the message cache). If they do actually click on the attachment link however, they won't be able to access it:
Connect with like-minded Atlassian users at free events near you!Find an event
Connect with like-minded Atlassian users at free events near you!
Unfortunately there are no Community Events near you at the moment.Host an event