What happens to conversations when i de-activate users in hip chat?

Hey all,

My Convo history config is set NOT to delete anything but I'm wondering what happens when I deactivate users.  Where do these old chats go?  If they are deleted, Can I archive them before hand and provide access to other users?  

 

Thanks,

John

1 answer

1 accepted

1 vote
Accepted answer

Hey John!

If you deactivate a user, their history should be retained indefinitely, (if your configuration is set to never delete, as yours is).

You can test this by going to your HipChat site and searching the history of a known deactivated user.  For example:

Point your browser to https://yourhipchaturl/search.  When you click the All Rooms and People dropdown, you'll be able to enter a search query.  If you search for a deactivated user, they should be returned under People, and you'll be able to search through their history.

I just tested it on my own instance, and I was able to view the history of users that were deactivated a long time ago.

Good luck!

Cool - That's perfect! 

 

thanks. 

John

Suggest an answer

Log in or Sign up to answer
Community showcase
Published Nov 14, 2018 in Hipchat Cloud

Hipchat Cloud and Stride End of Life: Just over 90 days away

Earlier this year we made the difficult decision to discontinue our team messaging tools, Stride and Hipchat. The end of life date for Stride and Hipchat Cloud is quickly approaching - February 15, 2...

29,333 views 0 7
Read article

Atlassian User Groups

Connect with like-minded Atlassian users at free events near you!

Find a group

Connect with like-minded Atlassian users at free events near you!

Find my local user group

Unfortunately there are no AUG chapters near you at the moment.

Start an AUG

You're one step closer to meeting fellow Atlassian users at your local meet up. Learn more about AUGs

Groups near you