PagerDuty webhook notification volume?

I've got PagerDuty successfully sending messages to a HipChat room, but I'm not getting notifications (pop up) from my Windows client when a new message arrives.  Room notification volume is set to loud, and my client is set to show a popup.  It's working as expected for our other integrations (JIRA, Confluence, etc.)

Any ideas?

2 answers

1 vote

Suspect PagerDuty message doesn't set the notify flag:

from https://www.hipchat.com/docs/apiv2/method/send_room_notification

[notify flag defines] whether this message should trigger a user notification (change the tab color, play a sound, notify mobile phones, etc). Each recipient's notification preferences are taken into account.

Jeff, can you contact PagerDuty and they should be able to change the addon.

Hi @Anatoli Kazatchkov,

I am a Technical Support Engineer at PagerDuty and I am happy to provide some insight and assistance here. The PagerDuty to HipChat integration was actually developed by Atlassian and is currently maintained by your team. In addition, the integration is still using v1 of the HipChat API and not v2 as you had linked above. Would you be able to forward this discussion to the appropriate member of your team to update this addon? I am happy to provide any additional information you may need from our team, just let me know how I can help!

Cheers,

Luke

Thanks Luke, I will follow up on that. I believe David Hayes was developing the new version but it wasn't released. Maybe instead of fixing this bug it is worthwhile reviving the newer version smile .

Thanks Anatoli! David does have the new version on the roadmap but there is not currently an ETA on when it will be ready for release. If resolving this issue is as simple as updating the notify flag to true, I think it would be helpful for the users to have this updated while we work on the new version. Let me know what you think!