Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Git revert to specific revision

Jaex October 6, 2013

I'm new to Git and trying to find how to revert to specific revision in SourceTree. I was using svn before and it was like this in svn: https://dl.dropbox.com/u/14076298/ShareX/2013/10/EsnebIR63J.png

Reverse commit doing nearly what i want in SourceTree but it is only for one revision and i want all revisions from HEAD to target revision like how it works in svn. I can do one by one reverse commit but i prefer to have all revert changes in one commit instead of 10 different commits for them. (Maybe be able to select multiple revisions and having reverse commit button clickable in menu would be good solution to what i want?)

Then i give up using gui for this and searched about commands and found this command:

git revert -n sha1..HEAD

It works perfectly and doing what i want. But i don't like to use commands so still keep tried to find solution in gui. And finally found this workaround:

https://dl.dropbox.com/u/14076298/ShareX/2013/10/1OKocrPrni.mp4

Hard reset to specific revision and after that soft reset to head revision. I'm not sure how it works but giving same results as "git revert -n sha1..HEAD" i think. Is it proper way to do what i want? Is there a better solution to this? I don't understand why right click menu of SourceTree don't have Revert to revision option.

4 answers

1 vote
alextretyak October 7, 2015

Checkout in git has many different forms, but mentioned "git checkout <commit> -- <filename>" does not move HEAD. (See detailed explanation here, and pay attention to the table at the end.)
To revert all files to specific revision use "git checkout <sha1> ." or "git checkout <sha1> \*".
So, if you want SourceTree UI do exactly that what "Revert to this revision" in TortoiseSVN does, just add this Custom Action to SourceTree for Windows:

Menu caption: Revert to this revision
Script to run: cmd