Jira Software Server and Data Center is faster with the new versions of PostgreSQL

Kamila Czubaj
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
February 21, 2020

Hello, Community!

My name is Kamila and I'm a Product Manager on Server and Data Center products here at Atlassian. Recently, we have shared with you some updates regarding database support for Server and Data Center products. As it has been mentioned in the earlier blogpost, Server and Data Center teams are committed to adding support for new versions of popular databases, so that our customers can use modern technology to power Atlassian applications.

Only within the last couple of months in two of the most recent Jira Software Server and Data Center releases, we have announced support for PostgreSQL 10 (Jira 8.6) and PostgreSQL 11 (Jira 8.7), Postgres 10 will be backported to Jira 8.5 ER.

As PostgreSQL is the most popular database among our Server and Data Center customers, I wanted to share the results of performance tests which show some of the benefits coming from upgrading to newer versions of PostgreSQL.

We have tested Jira against three versions of PostgreSQL

• PostgreSQL 9.6
  • PostgreSQL 10.11
  • PostgreSQL 11.6

Here are some of the main takeaways

• For the majority of basic actions (including “create issue”, “view issue”, “view board”, “view backlog”), Jira performs best with PostgreSQL 11.6 version

• We can see incremental performance improvements with every newer version of the DB (i.e. Jira is overall faster with PostgreSQL 10 than with version 9 and faster with ver 11 compared to ver 10)

• Performance improvement between version 9.6 and 11.6 for (some actions) ranges from 2.85% to 7.44%

performance improvements.png

• For actions where performance is worse for version 11.6 compared to 9.6, the decrease ranges from 1.99% to 7.13%

decrease performance.png

Full results

95th percentile [ms] - less better_green.png