Calling Community members who have upgraded to Data Center (or are thinking about it)

Jacob Shepard
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
July 9, 2019

Hey Community, my name is Jacob and I’m a Product Marketing Manager on the Data Center team. We want to hear from you! We understand that the move to our Data Center products doesn’t happen overnight, but when you are ready we want to help you make the strongest case possible.

Before we embark on creating assets and materials, we thought it would be best to hear from y’all.

For those who have switched to Data Center, what helped you build your case? Are there materials you presented to your company, or are there resources you wish you had?

For those who haven’t made the switch (yet), what can Atlassian do to help support your case? What kind of assets? What information do you need?

Thanks for your input. Please share your comments, input, feedback and any ideas below.

Cheers,

Jacob

1 comment

Comment

Todd Thomas July 11, 2019

We haven't switched yet because of one major factor- cost. The problems we have switching to Data Center are:

1. Data Center costs much more.
  2. Maintenance is a LOT more since you pay annually instead of at a 50% discount.
  3. All Apps cost a bunch more, too.

I haven't done the pricing comparison yet, but I imagine it would cost us about 3 times as much ANNUALLY to switch to Data Center. That's a huge barrier to adoption.

Some solutions:

1. Reduce the cost of Data Center generally (both purchase pricing and maintenance).
  2. Some combo of both.