Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Brian Chabot: Application Developer + Motorcyclist extraordinaire

Whether he's rooting for Otto the Orange or cruising to campus on his motorcycle, @Brian Chabot undeniably channels the school spirit of his employer, Syracuse University. In this showcase, you will learn more about his career path as well as what it's like to be an Application Developer in the education industry. Enjoy! 

Tell us a little bit about your career path and how it brought you into education

I started developing scripts when I was a Systems Administrator and really enjoyed the work. Went back to school for Computer Science and, fast forward, I’m now an Application Developer for Syracuse University here in New York State. I’m part of a team that maintains the systems for the entire campus. I build and maintain the custom plugins we have in-house and help to develop standards across the systems.
withspace.jpg

Describe how Syracuse uses Atlassian tools in day-to-day work

We have three environments: Dev, Test, and Production. 

Currently, the university uses Confluence (server) for documentation and collaboration. Confluence has about 180 total spaces using about 220,00 content pages. We also use Jira (server) for tracking issues and tickets across many departments on campus. We have a few plugins, which include: Team Calendars and Zen Foundation.

Jira currently has about 700,000 issues across 207 projects. We have a number of Jira plugins, which include: Email This Issue, ScriptRunner, Jira Agile, Tempo Timesheets, and a few from Bob Swift.

Both systems are available to students, faculty, staff, alumni, and external non-university customers. This total user count is about 150,000. We are developing a roadmap to bring Service Desk into the campus in the future.

What are some of the biggest challenges that your team faces?