TOPIC TUESDAY: Ethnicity--What is OK to ask?

Karen O'Keefe May 7, 2019

My family is pretty diverse (Norway, Ireland, El Salvador, Spain, Iran). I grew up in Los Angeles, surrounded by neighbors and school friends from all over the world. I'm super interested in everyone's culture--and always have been. My parents insisted we grow up multi-lingual, so we were educated in French, spoke Spanish at home, and spoke English in the neighborhood. As a kid, I was invited to my friends' and neighbors' homes for all kinds of meals and to various religious houses of worship. I'm a professionally trained chef who learned French technique, apprenticed with an Italian, and focused in my studies on Asian cuisine.

I've always enjoyed learning about others' cultures--and sharing my own (Irish wakes are a celebration--unlike most funerals here in the states). These days I hear a lot about how rude people are when they inquire about someone's ethnicity, which I can understand considering the anti-immigrant fervor here in the states.

My question is this--what is OK to ask? I'm ethnically as white as can be (Norwegian/Scotch-Irish), so I imagine I seem rude, but my intentions are good.

6 comments

Comment

Mary Ramirez
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
May 7, 2019

Right. This can be a tricky situation. I feel like I want to just learn about a person but I don't want to offend them. 🤷‍♀️ These days, I'm scared to even open my mouth. 

Darlene Ashleigh Jeter May 8, 2019

Maria,

Don't be afraid. If you truly want to learn about the person, start off by talking about yourself and an experience you find memorable. It will take off positively from there if it's a person you should get to know or even want to. :-)

Mary Ramirez
Rising Star
Rising Star