Password Security

William Lewis November 20, 2013

Hello

We are currently evaluating Crowd on Linux with postgresql back-end. We would like to use it to authenticate/authorise users of Jira, Confluence,Stash and the Calendar - as well as some of our own web-based systems. We would like to know how you secure the passwords in the code and DB. For instance:

How do you mitigate against a man-in-the middle attack?

Could someone obtain the passwords if they had access to the crowd DB?

Any further info regarding security would be useful. Apologies if this has been covered elsewhere.

3 answers

3 votes
Caspar Krieger
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
November 24, 2013

I'm a developer on Crowd; the information provided by Tiago is correct, but I'll elaborate a bit.

For "internal directories", we use one of a number of password encoding schemes (user configurable, and you can provide your own via a plugin if so inclined). The default is "Atlassian Security", which is currently a dumb wrapper around Bouncy Castle's implementation of PKCS 5 version 2 (aka PBKDF2), using a random 16 byte salt, 10,000 iterations, and generating a 256-bit hash as the final output. We wrap it so that we can easily upgrade "set it and forget it" customers to a more secure scheme if the current underlying scheme is found to have a vulnerability.

Application passwords (used by applications such as JIRA and Confluence to authenticate with Crowd) use the same scheme.