You are not allowed to remove all the Administration Permissions for this space

Jacques
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
August 25, 2015

Hello,

Only recently we started to use Confluence. As an unexperienced user I had set the Global Space Permissions so that the group "confluence-users" has Space Export and Space Admin permissions.

I now want to remove these permissions for any newly created spaces.

When I try to do this in the global Space Admin (/admin/permissions/doeditdefaultspacepermissions.action) I get the following error:

image2015-8-26 8:0:13.png

Reading some documentation about this I had understood that I had to remove this specific security setting in each individual existing Space before I can change this global security setting.

As a Confluence Administrator I have checked all existing Spaces and have removed this Space Export and Space Admin permissions from the confluence-users group.

When trying to remove these default permissions again I get the exact same error message.

Anyone has a suggestion what I can try/do next to get these global security settings changed?

Thanks!
Jacques. 

2 answers

1 accepted

3 votes
Answer accepted
Jacques
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
August 25, 2015

I have just solved my own question!

The problem I was facing is that I only had the confluence-users group with the permission to administer spaces. I realized that I had to add the confluence-administrators group first and then remove the confluence-users group permissions!

I'll leave it up here so you don't make the same mistake I made smile 

0 votes
Monali Khadke November 15, 2016