Why might Confluence suddenly stop allowing page deletions?

Deleted user April 3, 2012

This is Confluence 3.4. I'm an Admin and have page deletion permissions. Today, I can no longer delete pages anywhere, not even from my personal space.

Even more interestingly, if I try to delete a page, Confluence says "Are you sure?" in the usual way and goes through the motions. When focus returns, the page is still there. But now, if I try to RENAME it, it says "Page not found". The page is definitely there, because I can move it to another space.

This first manifested itself with pages imported from complicated Word docs, so I thought that might be the problem but it now happens with brand new pages with just a simple sentence as content.

Our Tech Support don't have much Confluence experience. Where can I suggest they start looking?

----

PS When I was double-checking my deletion permissions I attempted to purge the trash in one of the spaces and got a big crash. I don't know if it's related, but here is the beginning of the crash report just in case

org.springframework.transaction.UnexpectedRollbackException: Transaction rolled back because it has been marked as rollback-only

at org.springframework.transaction.support.AbstractPlatformTransactionManager.commit(AbstractPlatformTransactionManager.java:626)
Stack Trace:[hide]

org.springframework.transaction.UnexpectedRollbackException: Transaction rolled back because it has been marked as rollback-only
at org.springframework.transaction.support.AbstractPlatformTransactionManager.commit(AbstractPlatformTransactionManager.java:626)
at org.springframework.transaction.support.TransactionTemplate.execute(TransactionTemplate.java:139)
at com.atlassian.confluence.pages.DefaultTrashManager.emptyBlock(DefaultTrashManager.java:77)
at com.atlassian.confluence.pages.DefaultTrashManager.emptyTrash(DefaultTrashManager.java:62)
at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke0(Native Method)