Page editing restrictions confused me

Andreas_Oeser October 23, 2019

We have strange behavior with our site access permissions:

I am an admin ins our confluence system (confluence-administrators group) and this group had complete access in a confluence space (all green). The pages, belongs to this site, have restricted access. (editing restricted) and i can´t edit this page.
What confuses me is that i am appear in the list of users who are allowed to edit and I can't see the "edit" link, nevertheless. I dont know, who give me that access rights (mabye confluence itself?) - but it didn´t work properly in my point of view. 

2 answers

0 votes
Davin Studer
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
October 23, 2019

Here is the problem and it really has to do with a misleading behavior of the page restrictions dialog. The page does have edit restrictions and you are not one of the people in the list. It looks like you are when you open the dialog because Confluence it trying to be helpful and figures if you make any changes that you will want to be one of the editors, so it auto adds your account to the list. However, that doesn't actually get saved to the list till you hit the "Apply" button. Basically, it is trying to prevent you from being able to lock yourself out of a page when creating restrictions by forgetting to also add yourself.

Stefan Nahr November 6, 2019

Hello Davin,