Migrating confluence to a new domain

Adam James February 8, 2015

Hi,

I've just been given the task of migrating our existing Confluence 3.4 servers (1 web and 1 sql) to a new domain and use a new LDAP server.

I have little to no knowledge of confluence and was wondering if anyone could point me in the right direction. Are there any documents out there explaining this procedure?

Regards,

AJ

3 answers

0 votes
Adam James February 9, 2015

I've managed to get the site back up. Thanks for all your help!!

I do have one more question though, since I have changed the LDAP settings there are no accounts with the required permissions to login to the site GUI. Where within the confluence data folders can I modify/create an administrator account so that I am able to login to the GUI again and then recreate my groups & users?

Mallmann
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
February 10, 2015

Hey again Adam! That's great to know :) To restore the local admin access you can check the following documentation: https://confluence.atlassian.com/display/DOC/Restoring+Passwords+To+Recover+Admin+User+Rights There are steps to create a new user or reset the admin password for an existing local admin account on that article. Let me know if you have any questions! Eduardo

0 votes
Mallmann
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
February 9, 2015

Hey AJ,

Regarding the LDAP connection, we also have a documentation that covers this configuration: https://confluence.atlassian.com/display/DOC/Connecting+to+an+LDAP+Directory

However, as I'm not sure whether you're going to migrate the users from one directory to another, you may want to describe what you need a bit more so we can help you better. smile

Hope it helps!

Eduardo Mallmann

0 votes
Elisa [Atlassian]
Atlassian Team
February 9, 2015

Hi Adam,