Jira/Conflunce Upgarde

Nitin Benjamin August 19, 2019

Dear All, Our project is using Jira and Confluence for the past many years. My manager have asked to upgrade Jira to the latest one. Since I am new to this, please let me out how to upgrade latest Jira and Confluence version in my Unix server.  I have gone through many article and I am confused.

Jira Current Version :6.3.9

Conflucen Current verison : 5.6.4

2 answers

2 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
DPKJ
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
August 19, 2019

First you need to identify how installation was done on your system.

1. As Service, or
  2. Manual (using tar.gz package)

For service instance upgrading is quite easy, you just need to update services, this link enough https://confluence.atlassian.com/adminjiraserver/upgrading-jira-server-installer-938846937.html

For Manual Installations,

• You will need to replace installer with new installer, and
  • update value of home path, and
  • change settings inside <installation>/conf/server.xml, and <installation>/bin/setenv.sh files (to match old installation)
  • you can shutdown old instance and start new one.

Point to ponder,

• Direct update from Jira 6 to 8 is not possible you need to do it in steps, 6.3.x to 6.4.xx to 7.0.xx to 7.3 to 8.3
  • If you are using MySQL or Oracle as database you need to manually out JDBC Connector files in <installation>/lib directory
  • Make sure all your plugins are supported on new version of Jira and Confluence before upgrade
  • New Jira and Confluence require more system memory by default

Thank DPK for your answer. Totally appreciated. This Jira/Conf. was installed long back when I was not there. Is there any quick turnaround to know how it was installed in my server ? Since I see many ways to install i.e installer, manual and data center. 

DPKJ
Community Leader