Issue with Confluence Macros

Hi,

our developers have created many macros for formatting etc. when working with confluence. However all of a sudden, the macros don't get displayed any more. When you click the "other macros" button, only the few standard macros from confluence are displayed.

Has anyone experienced the same problem? Any ideas how to fix it?

Thanks in advance!

Simon

6 answers

Hi Simon,

  • do you use confluence server or on-demand?
  • did you change the confluence version?
  • did you check, if the plugin is still installed and all modules are enabled or do you use user macros?
  • did you install any new plugins? especially plugins which contains macros, maybe they use the same macro key
  • are the macros still rendered in the frontend

Hey Paul, thanks for the quick answer! I'll do my best to answer your questions: - We're hosting Confluence on our own server, - We're using self-created macros, but as I said, they don't get displayed any more. I've created a "test macro" and when I try to edit a Confluence article, they simply don't show up in the macros list. It seems like they don't exist at all. - Which plugins / modules have to be installed for the macros to run smooth? - Regarding your questions if I changed anything: I'll have to ask my colleagues, because I just found out that the problem exists longer, than I'm in this company. Grrr, I LOVE reverse engineering. ;)

As I understand you made User Macros: https://confluence.atlassian.com/display/DOC/Writing+User+Macros right? Or did you write your own plugin and added macros there? I am not quite sure which plugins have to be installed to make these macros work. - Which Confluence Version do you currently use? - Do you know when the macros worked last? Has there been a confluence update after? You could try to install a marketplace macro plugin like this: https://marketplace.atlassian.com/plugins/com.comalatech.checklists and see if this works. Maybe this will give yo a hint, what is wrong.

Yes, we made user macros. We're currently using Confluence 5.5, build 5501. I'll check if the macros stopped working after an update - as soon as the colleague finally shows up in the office. ;) Oh and thanks for the link to the plugin, I'll check that out.

You could also check the status of your "user macros" in the admin section (administration > configuration > user macros).

Are they (user macros) are visible in Confluence Admin -> User Macros (/admin/usermacros.action) ?

If yes, then verify the visibility of those macros: they could be set to be visible only to administrators...

Okay, three steps back!

The missing macros aren't user macros, they are, in fact, addons. I got this fact yesterday after I finally was able to talk to one of our developers (they are using the macros), but apparently I can only write three posts per day and thread. wink So sorry for the false information!

The addons (for example Gliffy) are still installed and most of them are up to date. I've updated the addon handler but that didn't help. The addons still don't get displayed when working on a Confluence article (regardless if they're up to date or not).

Are you addons enabled? May be case-by-case approach would be more efficient? What add-on is not working? :)

Thanks for your help! When I go to "configure addons", I don't see an option to enable or disable any addons. Besides, all of them are not showing up in Confluence, not just some.

May be plugins have been skipped due to incompatibility when you did a Confluence update-ugrade? Which Confluence version you have used before?

There may has been an update prior to the missing of the addons. Unfortunately, this error exists since long before I started working at this company. I can't really tell when the last update was and which version we used before. But I think version incompatibility doesn't explain why I can't see ANY addons. Sure, some could become incompitable, but ALL of them? ;)

Do you find the plugin-jar-file somewhere?

It is possible that all of them are incompatible. Could you install checklists plugin and get it to work?

metadata.jpgHey, sorry for the delayed answer. I think I've found the solution: The addon "Default Macro Metadata Provider" is deactivated. Unfortunately, there's a message saying that the addon can't be activated due one or severals errors. It doesn't tell me, which errors that are, though.

I've attached a scrennshot (in german, unfortunately). Any ideas on how I can activate the addon respectively the modules of the addon?

Hi @Simon Bauer,

kein Problem smile

Does this answer solve your problem:

https://answers.atlassian.com/questions/216979

Hey, this sounds promising. I'll try it next week when we have our next maintenance window where I can stop Confluence. Thanks for the link!

Well, that didn't help. The Metadata Provider Plugin is still disabled.

Does anyone alse have some ideas? How can I activate that friggin' plugin?

Suggest an answer

Log in or Sign up to answer
Atlassian Community Anniversary

Happy Anniversary, Atlassian Community!

This community is celebrating its one-year anniversary and Atlassian co-founder Mike Cannon-Brookes has all the feels.

Read more
Community showcase
Kesha Thillainayagam
Posted Friday in Confluence

We want to hear how your non-technical teams are using Confluence!

Hi Community! Kesha (kay-sha) from the Confluence marketing team here! Can you share stories with us on how your non-technical (think Marketing, Sales, HR, legal, etc.) teams are using Confluen...

253 views 11 10
Join discussion

Atlassian User Groups

Connect with like-minded Atlassian users at free events near you!

Find a group

Connect with like-minded Atlassian users at free events near you!

Find my local user group

Unfortunately there are no AUG chapters near you at the moment.

Start an AUG

You're one step closer to meeting fellow Atlassian users at your local meet up. Learn more about AUGs

Groups near you