cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Inline comments - how to no spam everyone

Mick Davidson
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
November 7, 2016

Hello,

I've added some inline comments to a page that are notes to myself. However, when I do this, and even though I use @<myusername> to direct the comment to myself, everyone who's edited the page gets notified. (But I don't!)

Is this intended behaviour, and if so, how can I stop it happening?

I'm a tech writer and need to be able to add notes to the developer-created content that I'm reviewing and will use in our client docs.

Also, whilst I love inline comments, we seem to have lost the ability to grab content and use it in a comment at the bottom of the page. Which is a bit of a loss IMO.

We're using Sever 5.9.9 running Chrome latest.

Cheers.

2 answers

1 vote
Kate _izi_
Marketplace Partner
Marketplace Partners provide apps and integrations available on the Atlassian Marketplace that extend the power of Atlassian products.
November 7, 2016

Hi Mick,

You can try the Talk add-on for this case. It allows you to restrict viewing of inline comments to users or groups. You can configure default Space viewing permissions or apply individual viewing restrictions to specific talks.

Users who can't view Talk inline comments won't be notified on the activity in those discussions.

Kind regards,

Katerina Kolina [StiltSoft]

Mick Davidson
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
November 8, 2016

Thank you Katerina, I'll have a look. smile

0 votes
Rob Woodgate
Rising Star
Rising Star
November 7, 2016

Hi Mick,