How to make a page reference itself as an outgoing link

Pages created before I got here (and only a handful) show in their page information an outgoing link that references itself.  This allows forms from other pages to locate them and access data in them.  Any new page I create will not create an outgoing link for itself.  I am a new admin, and have been researching this ad nauseum.  I can add html links no problem etc, but the page shown below (right) has no html links and the way it references itself is not in the code as I have deleted all code (to check) and the outgoing link for itself still remains.  The below left page is a new one that I want an outgoing link for. I am guessing it is something ridiculous I have missed in settings or in page creation.  Thanks.

confluence page info.png

2 answers

1 accepted

Found the actual issue to be a permissions issue.  Pages that were able to be seen through field definitions were pages that were "public" through our WIKI.  I had incorrectly conflated the 'outgoing links' page as the tool that allowed this function.  Since we wanted the page to remain non public as a data page it had to be kept anonymous.  I was able to bypass this by referencing the page ID of my data page (department list) and the form data associated with it in the open source editor (html).  Learn something new every day.

0 vote
Sam Hall Community Champion Dec 08, 2016

Hi Mark,

This is tricky one to answer. I could be way off the mark, so apologies if I am, but here goes:

Are you sure your "HR 7 Tenets Goals FY16-17" page doesn't have a subtle link to itself somewhere in the content on the page?

It might not be easy to spot if someone has changed the font colour. It will only show if you hover the mouse over. For example:

subtle-link.jpg

One way to check might be to "View Storage Format" on the page a look for any <ac:link> tags:

view-storage-format.jpg