How to add macro inside code block

We are using Confluence 4.3.7.

I would like to embed a user-info macro inside a code block. That way a set of commands will have the current username inside the code block example.

This doesn't seem possible as no macro can be inserted inside a code block?

So, is there a way to format a set of text+macro so that it looks like a code block?

2 answers

1 accepted

0 votes
Accepted answer

I found a much simpler approach:

Use a panel macro and use macros inside it.

I don't think you can insert macro into a code block. You can play with the css by adding the macro into a container and add custom css to make it look like the way you want.

Thanks for the feedback. Unfortunately I'm not a web developer and not familiar with CSS at all. I managed to google and play with some parameters to make a border around text. But the box does not extend cleanly like the "code" macro. How do I find out what the code macro settings are so that "fred1" text matches"fred2" below?

Fred1 properly formatted using code macro:

<ac:macro ac:name="code">
<ac:parameter ac:name="language">none</ac:parameter>
<ac:plain-text-body><![CDATA[fred1]]></ac:plain-text-body>
</ac:macro>
<p>

Fred 2 improperly formatted as I do not know what CSS settings are used in code macro:

<ac:macro ac:name="span">
<ac:parameter ac:name="style">border-style:dashed; border-width: 1px; padding: 10px 10px; border-radius:5px;</ac:parameter>
<ac:parameter ac:name="class">Code Block</ac:parameter>
<ac:parameter ac:name="atlassian-macro-output-type">INLINE</ac:parameter>
<ac:rich-text-body> fred2</ac:rich-text-body>
</ac:macro>
</p>

Suggest an answer

Community showcase
Posted Oct 24, 2018 in Confluence

Atlassian Research opportunity with Confluence templates

Do you use templates with Confluence? Take part in a remote 1-hr workshop. You'll receive USD $100 for your time!   We're looking for people to participate in a   remote 1-hr workshop...

919 views 13 11
Join discussion