How do I remove users from the Individual Users Permissions list for a specific Space?

Sal Quintanilla February 3, 2015

I'm new to Confluence, and created a team space with 20 or so members.  I realize now that in my case it would be better to create a group, allowing me to add / remove members and modify rights for the whole team easily.

I know how to make a group and add it to the permissions list.  In addition to that, I'd like to remove the currently listed individual users so that there are no doubts about rights, and to make things easier to manage.  Unfortunately there are no trash cans next to users, and the only control I see is the gear that lets you select or deselect All per user.

Is there a way to delete users from the Individual Users list under Permissions?

3 answers

6 votes
TomC
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
February 3, 2015

Sal,

Deselecting all per user and clicking the Save All buttion will delete individual Users from the permissions list. Also, an old trick from before they had the Deselect All gear option that still works is just to deselect the View option (first checkbox to the far left) and then saving.

Cheers,

Tom

Florian Grau February 27, 2018

This doesn't seem to work.

See attached screenshot - three users without any permissions still show up and are not automatically deleted, after "Deselect All" and "Save".

Any other ideas?

Slice.png

2 votes
Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
February 3, 2015

Use the gear to "deselect all", then save the change.  If a user has no ticks at all on a row, they will be dropped off the permissions.

TomC
Community Leader
Community Leader
February 3, 2015