cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
  • Community
  • Products
  • Confluence
  • Questions
  • How can I add some custom JavaScript or a little snippet that will use the Confluence API to grab current user's info to a Confluence page?

How can I add some custom JavaScript or a little snippet that will use the Confluence API to grab current user's info to a Confluence page?

MacGregor Thompson July 18, 2016

I'm a developer working on a project and have never used Confluence before. Is there a way to add some custom javascript or a little snippet to a confluence page to let me grab the current user's info and then pass that along?

Details:
1) Confluence web page has a button.
2) When a user clicks that button, I want to use the confluence api to grab the user's info, open a new window to the url with the user's info attached as the query string.

Basically, I just want to know if there's a way add a snippet using the confluence api. I have the api method I need, but am having trouble figuring out how it can be added to the page. One of our customer's uses Confluence for their company and is requesting this feature.

1 answer

1 vote
Sarah Heimeier July 20, 2016

Hi MacGregor, 
If I understand correctly what you are wanting to do, to add JavaScript into a Confluence page you need to insert the HTML macro. To do this go to the Confluence editor, click Insert > Other Macros, and search for HTML macro. Then insert it into the page. Inside the HTML macro, you can then add the JavaScript code.

I hope this helps

MacGregor Thompson July 21, 2016

Well the issue is that the steps to turn on the html macro don't work.

1. Go to  > Add-ons.

2. Select System from the drop down and search for the Confluence HTML Macros add-on.
  3. Expand the add-on and enable the html (html-xhtml) module.

The only thing listed that has 'html' in it is 'Atlassian XHTML'.  

If you do what you say, the only html macros listed are as follows:

1) HTML Comment