Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Disable anonymous users for specific pages in Confluence

Dan Barrett October 28, 2014

Hi

I'm trying to figure out a way of having anonymous users able to access a Space in Confluence, but then disable anonymous access for specific pages in the public space.  Here's the back story:

I'm a developer at a design agency and we've got a Confluence space for general WordPress support.  We've also got separate client Spaces for client-specific support information.  Each client Space is linked in with Service Desk so clients on their Service Desk page can search their Confluence KB/Space for answers.  The public articles are labelled #public, and client-specific articles are labelled #client1public, #client2public etc.  My problem is that I can't add multiple Confluence KB's to the Service Desk.

What I'd like to achieve is to allow Client 1 to be able to search #client1public pages, along with #public pages.

I noticed that in Service Desk you can limit searches to specific labels, so for Client 1 I can limit them to #client1public and #public.  My thinking then moved to having 1 large Space that had #public pages that everyone can see, and then client-specific pages that are labelled per client (i.e. #client1public).  My problem is then if I make the Space have anonymous access, anyone can then view all pages, #public or otherwise.

• Anonymous User: should see #public labelled Confluence pages only - no access to Service Desk
  • Client 1: should see #public labelled Confluence pages only - they should only be able to search #public and #client1public labelled pages in Service Desk
  • Client 2: should see #public labelled Confluence pages only - they should only be able to search #public and #client2public labelled pages in Service Desk