Come for the products,
stay for the community

The Atlassian Community can help you and your team get more value out of Atlassian products and practices.

Atlassian Community about banner
Community Members

Community Events
Community Groups

Can I use the personal access token directly in an URL?

QmUser I'm New Here Apr 19, 2022

Hello guys, 

I have the  following issue: I have created a personal access token for my account and if I use the REST API and curl I can see that access is granted and I get the json content. I'm new to Confluence and using the REST API and I wonder if the following is possible:

I would like to use my personal access token this way, e.g.:

https:\\my-site.atlassian.net\wiki\home?user=<personal access token>

and that this link will give me access to my personal user page in confluence. Does Confluence offers this type of access using a link? 

If not and only thru REST API and curl, how can I navigate to my Wiki/Home page in Confluence?

Any assistance or tips will be greatly appreciated.

1 answer

1 accepted

1 vote
Answer accepted

Hi @QmUser ,

Welcome to the community!

To the best of my knowledge, you cannot use the API token to access the normal web interface of Confluence – it only works with the REST API. And as you probably already know, there is no REST endpoint to retrieve the personalized home page. 

You basically have three options here: a) you just try and fetch all the relevant information that's on the home page manually using search with different queries to get things like recently worked on etc. This might be cumbersome, but it's the best and most reliable way to work with the API.