Basic Missing Features That Should Be Standard In Confluence

Clinton Bradley January 26, 2016

I've been a Confluence user and admin since 2010 and am still bewildered at the lack of some basic included features that should have been there for 10 years already - despite innumerable requests and incredulous questions from end users  - which would make the product so much easier for end users, and less of a drain on IT / developer people who have to provide so much assistance due to lack of these basic features. many other CMS platform already have many of these features - it's time for Atlasssian to catch up.

Below is a list of basic features that in my opinion need to implemented ASAP to ensure end user adoption and frustration reduction. Please vote up this post and add any additional missing standard features you've found to be critical for your end users and maybe we can get Atlasssian to take notice.

Editor

Text

1. Text styles - preset and user
  2. Font size - by pixels, ems, percent etc.
  3. Font selection - web fonts, Google fonts etc.
  4. Font weight
  5. All caps, small caps title caps, etc.
  6. Line spacing - by pixels, ems, percent etc.
  7. Any text color
  8. Any background color
  9. Justified text
  10. Number lists with a lot more options / number color / number size
  11. Bullet lists with a lot more options / bullet color / bullet size
  12. List image bullets
  13. Columns and sections that flow text
  14. Automatic headings numbering

Tables

1. Table styles - preset and user
  2. Borderless tables
  3. Cell borders - any side / color / thickness
  4. Cell background - any color or image
  5. Merged cells and cell spanning
  6. Column width
  7. Row height

Sections

1. Section borders - any color / any thickness / corner radius
  2. Drag section borders to resize selection
  3. Any number of horizontal sections

Media / Attachments