Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Adding a group to a sapce in Confluence

Suzanne Hachem December 13, 2018

Hello To all,

I'm a site admin and we have JIRA and confluence on cloud. Someone asked me to create  a new space for them in Confluence which I did, and then I went to the jira user management and created a group, with the list of needed users to this space, to whom I gave access to confluence too. Afterwards, I went into the space I created and went into space settings to manage the space authorization, by adding the new group I just created. What is weird is when I start typing the group name, it's recognized and proposed to me. So I select it and then ask to add the group to the space. And this is when I have a message saying : The user XXXX could not be found. Confirm the existence of the group with a Confluence administrator. Am I missing anything between the group creation in the admin console user management to linking it to the space I created in confluence? What is also weird is that the error message is referring to a user and not a group. I checked and I'm creating it in the groups authorizations. If i try adding another group it works. But this new group it doesn't... P.S : my space has the exact name as my group. Do you think this is causing the problem? Thank you for your help

1 answer

1 vote
Shannon S
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
December 20, 2018

Suzanne,

What's the name of the group you created? Is it possible there's any whitespace in it?

I suspect it could be this bug, but I'd like more information about the situation.

Regards,

Shannon

Suzanne Hachem December 21, 2018

Hello Shannon,