Update to default sort order for newly created pages

Elaine H.
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
December 4, 2018

Hi Community! My name is Elaine and I’m a Confluence Product Manager. I want to discuss with you a recent change we made to the default placement of newly created pages in the page tree.

In the past, newly created pages were added to the page tree by alphabetical order (natural sort order to be exact). We made a change to place the new page at the bottom under the parent page instead. In other words, new pages are now added to the page tree by date created.

This change was driven by a shift in how teams use Confluence. In early days, Confluence was primarily used for documentation with relatively static structure and content. With more teams adopting Confluence for project collaboration, their content is more dynamic and users more diverse. Alphabetic order has its limitations, especially in a constantly changing environment.

Based on our user learnings, we believe this new default sort order together with drag & drop page reordering in the page tree (coming soon) suit the needs of the majority of teams using Confluence today.

For those of you who may find alphabetical order more relevant, it's still available under Space Settings -> Content Tools -> Reorder Pages as explained on Move, Copy, and Hide Pages.

Every team’s need is unique when it comes to organizing information. We would like to hear your feedback on this change, understand how you organize your Confluence space, and discuss ideas on where we can help. Thank you!

22 comments

Koosh Shah December 7, 2018

You should allow each user to be able to select which option they want. We use ours mainly for documentation so sorting alphabetically is important. Now I have to keep going in to Reorder Pages to sort manually which is a PITA.

Like # people like this
Christian Bell December 11, 2018