My feedback on the new "Confluence experience"

Suzanne Thompson September 20, 2017

Let me preface this with saying the following:

I have been working with Confluence for a long time, but I am not adverse to change. I work in IT and the products/services offered by the IT industry change constantly.  What I am adverse to is bad change...and this entire post covers my opinions concerning what I believe to be a very bad change.

1. The new interface is not easy or intuitive to navigate around.  This observation comes from multiple technical people (I work for a software company), some who have worked with it for a long time, some who are new to using it.
  2. The navigational tree's usefulness has been diminished with less control over which elements are displayed and how.
  3. The drag and drop functionality, while it could be useful, can potentially cause further problems.
  4. I find that, on occasion, when I search for a page using the Search button in the navigational tree that I know is there, when I try to click the link, it tells me the page doesn't exist (although it was returned within the search parameters AND I can navigate to it through a bookmark or direct URL).
  5. When you edit the navigational tree and ADD space shortcuts, you cannot see the ones you added until you save. This led me to add 3 of the same one, thinking it just wasn't being added.
  6. The lack of any method to "revert" back to the previous "experience", combined with the various bugs, issues, difficulties and annoyances, make the "experience" of using Confluence even more annoying.
  7. The general theme is clunky and IMO ugly.
  8. Atlassian should have spent more time in adding to the functionality (macros, formatting abilities for the WYSIWYG, etc.) and less time on redesigning the entire product. More and better macros are always welcome.

In short, we absolutely loathe the changes to your product, finding it far less useful and far more time consuming to work with.

10 comments