Feature updates for the new Confluence Cloud experience

Caroline Bartle
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
September 18, 2017

Hi there,

I'm a product manager with Confluence Cloud, and I wanted to inform you about a couple of feature updates we've recently made to the new Confluence experience. There's been plenty of feedback about the new experience since we first started rolling it out back in July. We've been listening to this feedback (and will continue to listen!) as it helps us prioritise which features we build or improve. Below are two features we've rolled out to the new experience as a result of your input. 

Firstly, we heard from a lot of you that it took too many clicks to move from space to space. To help solve this problem, we've introduced a space switcher. The space switcher lets you quickly access spaces you've visited recently, and also gives you a link to the space directory ("All spaces"). Here's the space switcher with the sidebar expanded and collapsed:

Screen Shot 2017-09-18 at 9.45.06 pm.png        Screen Shot 2017-09-18 at 9.30.30 pm.png

We also heard that a key missing feature with the new experience was the ability to customise space navigation - that is, to remove items, or change their order. So from now on, if blogs or an app aren't important to a space, you'll be able to remove links to them. Or if you want pages to be the first item in the navigation, you can move the link to the top of the list. Admins and space admins can use the edit pencil at the bottom of the sidebar to start customising:

sidebar_customization.png