Do you want natural language search & automated Q&A for Confluence?

Michael Ilewicz April 29, 2022

Hello everybody,

I am a developer working with Artificial Intelligence. I have been thinking about an add-on for confluence that would let your customers search and ask questions across spaces or all of confluence using natural language. The AI would then show documents that are close in meaning to the search prompt or, if it is a question, provide a direct answer to the question as you know it from Google with a link to the source for the info.

You would be able to see the relevant chapter and preview the whole confluence page, all on a dedicated smart search page so that you can quickly browse through relevant pages.

Other applications for this might contain a chat bot that you can implement on your Jira Help Desk or any website, which would let your customers ask questions against your knowledge base and let them raise requests right from your website.

Another potential application I can think of is Natural Language to CQL conversion, but I can't tell you yet how well this would work or if it would even be interesting to you.

There might also be a partner app for Jira that adds the same features to issues instead of pages.

Which of these functionalities would you be most interested in? As there are some computational costs involved to run the AI as well as significant development costs, this of course would need to be a paid app and I would be interested to hear your price expectations about such a feature.

Also, if anybody would like to participate in a more in-depth discussion or a short user-research interview, please reach out to me at matlassapps@gmail.com

2 comments

Srinatha T
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
April 30, 2022

Hi @Michael Ilewicz ,