Confluence and JIRA - best practices

Rachel Wilson December 18, 2017

I am new to Confluence and new to the "epics" feature in JIRA- there are now requirements which are called or were once called "features"-- is anyone else having a hard time keeping it straight?

Would like to know:

1. How are you using Confluence? Meeting Notes? Requirements?

2. How are you using the requirements blueprint in Confluence- using one page per sprint? One page per epic? Per individual requirement?

3 comments

Carlos Garcia Navarro
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
December 18, 2017

Hi Rachel,

I think of JIRA epics as features in the traditional sense. In an Agile JIRA world a story is something that can be completed in a sprint, and an epic is something that should be completed after a number of sprints (if you use a model as SAFe, this would be a PI, e.g.)

Regarding your questions:

1) I use Confluence for all type of the documentation (except for code comments, code review annotations and the like).  We use it for process documents, feature design documents, requirement documents, meeting notes, as a repository for our team retrospective, and even as a knowledge base! One of the most visited documents is the team handbook with a summary of the team processes and guidelines.