Introducing the Confluence Daily Digest!

My name is Daniel Ayele and I’m a Product Manager on the Confluence team here at Atlassian. I’m excited to introduce the new Confluence Daily Digest email which is rolling out to all customers in the next few weeks.

Digest.pngWith this new feature, instead of receiving one off email notifications for every page update, you will receive a single email the following morning with a summary of updates across pages, blog posts, and spaces you’re watching. All other email notifications (comments, page shares, etc) won’t be affected by this change.

If you’d still like to receive all of your page update emails you can toggle this setting off in Confluence email settings.

Why the Daily Digest?

Over the years we’ve heard from many customers about how frustrated you are with many aspects of our Confluence notifications experience. In particular, we’ve heard that people receive way too many email notifications from Confluence, cluttering their inboxes and making it difficult to stay up to date with their team’s work.

Our research found that page update notifications were the worst offenders in our notifications experience. We sent too many of them and they usually weren't actionable or useful for customers. So we experimented with batching these notifications on a daily basis and were able to reduce the total number of customer emails sent by 30% while keeping customers just as engaged and informed about their team’s work.

Check it out!

We’re excited and encouraged by these results and believe this new feature will go a long way towards improving Confluence customer satisfaction, establishing more customer trust with our notifications experience, and setting the foundation for a more delightful and engaging Confluence notifications experience.